hi all

I am new to php and curl.How can we create cookies using curl.What is the advantage of creating cookies this way,instead of creating from php's normal way (Setcookie());

Thanks to all

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

hi all

I am new to php and curl.How can we create cookies using curl.What is the advantage of creating cookies this way,instead of creating from php's normal way (Setcookie());

Thanks to all

Hi,

CURL is used by your PHP server to make a Request to another Web Server.
Here your websever is acting as the HTTP Client (like your browser) initiating the HTTP Request to the remote server.

Setcookie() is a request to set a cookie sent from your web server to the HTTP Client (usually a browser) that made the initial HTTP Request.

How Setcookie() works:

To understand this you need to understand how cookies are implemented.

Since HTTP is stateless, Cookies were described in the HTTP Specifications as a way to save data between 2 HTTP Requests.

An example HTTP GET Request looks like this:

GET / HTTP/1.0
Host: www.example.com

This is a request for the index page on the domain: www.example.com

Lets say you have the PHP Script below on the index.php page on www.example.com.

<html><head><title>Example</title></head>
<body>
<?php

setCookie('test', 'Test Cookie');
echo 'Test: '.$COOKIE['test'];

?>
</body>
</html>

The HTTP Response can be something like:

HTTP/1.0 200 OK
Set-Cookie: test=Test Cookie
Connection: close

<body>
Test: 
</body>
</html>

Note the HTTP Header: Set-Cookie: test=Test Cookie
This was generated by your webserver when it executed the function setCookie('test', 'Test Cookie');

Now when the web browser receives the HTTP Response from your server, it will save the cookie to its cookies file/folder.
Every time it sends a HTTP Request to the domain www.example.com in the future, it will also send it the cookie.

Example:

GET / HTTP/1.0
Cookie: test=Test Cookie