I am new to JSP and I am not very familiar with what its advantages and disadvantages are. We all know that Java is a big and complicated language, but it's not as web oriented as PHP. I have also heard that it's more expensive to find a server for JSP than for PHP.

So would you want to use JSP for a small company website with tight budget and not a lot of traffic? Why would you want to use JSP in this case? Is it faster? Is it more flexible? Would the website look more formal and respectable if it's in JSP?

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Given that you are new to Java development I will pretend I didn't hear ignorance. Java web development is not anymore just about JSP there is large amount of frameworks to choose from that can be used to build Java based website.

So why don't you come up with more specific questions instead of general non-sense that could be sorted out by simple research...

Given that you posted the only answer to my question, I wonder whether to respond to you as rudely and ignorantly as you did.

"why don't you come up with more specific questions"???

Is using JSP suitable for low budgets when it comes to hosting, development, maintenance? Therefore is it suitable for small low budget company websites?

Is JSP faster? In other words does the pages in JSP load faster than those in PHP?

Is JSP more formal? In other words is JSP used more for corporate and company websites unlike PHP, which is used a lot for online stores, blogs and homemade websites?

How much more specific could I be?

These sort of questions are mostly solved by management and not by general programmers. Did you expect another question about small bugs and programming errors?

Thank you for your down-vote Mr CTO, if you did not spot it yet you are in "small bugs and programming errors" section and not hyped technologies advise research subsection for lousy CTOs.