Hi everybody,
I'm a rater infrequent user of this forum. I'm studying International Media and Computer Science and one of my courses is called Gender & Computing. I'm supposed to write an essay on a topic which I was free to choose. While working on my bachelor's thesis I had to read a lot of different API's, tutorials, documentations etc. for various problems in various programming languages. It appeared to me that very often it was much easier for me to understand these texts if they were written for languages like Java, Ruby, Python. On the other hand I often had difficulties in understanding if they were meant for C++ or PHP. My theory is that if you program in a certain language it affects the way that you are talking/writing/thinking. I am currently working mostly in Java. I worked a lot with PHP. PHP was my first programming language (no it's not true. Lingo was my first one but I haven't used it since I left SAE).
I definitely do not want to start any hate stories here. But I'd really be interested in a lot of opinions on this subject. Especially I'd be interested if men and women have a different perception of this topic.
(My Professor says yes by the way). So again this is not at all about better or worse. It's just about differences.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Oh damn yes! Learned COBOL and BASIC as a youth and have never been the same. I have honestly tried to learn other languages but I was ruined. I was on programming teams that were both mixed and all men - the mixed teams worked best because they were complementary. Or so I think, it may just have been the teams. I do not have enough data to decide whether or not there is anything to the men vs women in IT controversies.

I guess if you have a solid foundation in computer science, you can pick up different languages quite easily. But from my experience, if you are learning a few languages at the same time, you might sometimes get crossover and confusion over the syntax.