currently im studying Java 6, and im using Notepad++ for programming, im just wondering if in this way, i could learn programming with java better than using a full blown IDE?

:confused:

i have a JCreator but i dont want to use it, cuz i decided to use Notepad++ instead, but if using IDE like JCreator is better, i would use it...i dont have any problems with Notepad++ yet, perhaps im still confortable using it XD

but i really need a suggestion for good :confused:
thanks..:x

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

In general I would go with an IDE made for your language you study. It usually has some handy features like syntax highlighting, error detection, code completion, context sensitive popup help and so on, that make learning easier.

I definitely agree with Lardmeister I am learning Java right now and I also have a beginners experience in Python. Having an IDE definitely helps.

I've heard that it's better to learn how to use the compiler from the command prompt first, then use an IDE to be more productive. I say do whatever makes you more comfortable. :)

Use emacs.

If you want to learn and be more productive, use an IDE. However, using Notepad++ can be a challenge at times.. but hey, challenges improve your skills.

Using an IDE shows that you are "weak" in that you need auto-completion, syntax highlighting, etc... :icon_rolleyes:

I've found that learning a language can be easier with and IDE because of the aforementioned features. On the other hand, if your eye can parse code fairly well, you might find that you prefer a text editor. It's really a personal choice.

well, im not really used to just pure Notepad,and auto completion makes typing slow for me,but i like syntax highlighting, esp. highlighting style of Notepad++, so i guess it's really a personal choice, im sticking up with Notepad++, cuz my eyes are comfortable with it..=/

Using an IDE shows that you are "weak" in that you need auto-completion, syntax highlighting, etc...