I've been hosting websites for quite awhile now (since 1998) and one of the biggest time-takers has always been email. So, you can imagine my delight when Google began offering their apps for free. I tested and re-tested, then I painstakingly moved all of my hosted customers to Google Apps for their email while continuing to host their sites here.
I am the admin of each of the Google Apps accounts that I set up. This is working fine, mainly because I encourage my customers to spend their precious time running their businesses while I take care of all things Web. But, in your opinion, what do I do if they ask to administer their own Apps?

I'd like to know your opinions on whether you think it's "right" for me to refuse admin rights to my Google Apps users.

Thanks,

I've been hosting websites for quite awhile now (since 1998) and one of the biggest time-takers has always been email. So, you can imagine my delight when Google began offering their apps for free. I tested and re-tested, then I painstakingly moved all of my hosted customers to Google Apps for their email while continuing to host their sites here.
I am the admin of each of the Google Apps accounts that I set up. This is working fine, mainly because I encourage my customers to spend their precious time running their businesses while I take care of all things Web. But, in your opinion, what do I do if they ask to administer their own Apps?

I'd like to know your opinions on whether you think it's "right" for me to refuse admin rights to my Google Apps users.

Thanks,

Its always your right to refuse. But there are things to consider.

While I'm no longer really in the business, I've been a Systems Analyst and Programmer Analyst since '79 ... and went out on my own as a contract project manager in '96. I more or less went into semi-retirement in '06 ... so consider the source.