Hello everyone,
I am a high school student looking to become a software engineer. But I hear that out sourcing is becoming a huge problem for them. Even my cousin an MIT top grad was laid off because of out sourcing. I would like to know how excatlly is the work like, is it difficult to get a stable job even at entry level, and what sort of back plans should I look into?
Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Money and Job Security:
Every (except direct service: burger flippers, janitorial staff, personal trainers) job is subject to outsourcing, and every job and industry is subject to market forces of all kinds. In some ways, you should consider that the better you are (therefore the higher you are paid) the more likely you are to lose a job to someone less well paid.

It seems to me that some market niches are more highly leveraged in the economy than others. By this, I mean that the job market for some jobs (or companies) moves the same way as the economy, but faster. Some jobs are unleveraged, and some reverse leveraged, too. Construction, design, software seem to be highly leveraged: If money is tight, people put off doing such things: You don't need a new kitchen, a new magazine layout or a new version of your software package. Some service jobs are unleveraged: You may avoid going out to eat or hiring a personal trainer when money is tight, but you will still need health care, mortuary services ... And some are reverse leveraged: We need more guards and cops (though we may not be able to afford them) when the economy drives marginal people toward risky behavior.

What the work is like:
Software engineers have a variety of job opportunities, though once you begin to specialize in one, it is harder to move to another. Among the obvious:

• System administration
  • (assist with) Numerical calculations, simulations, projections
  • Create or maintain PC software
  • Create or maintain mobile apps
  • Create or maintain service/server programs