Hey,

I'm just learning how to invest and I figure that it can't hurt to learn a bit how the stock market works, even if I don't have real cash to invest.. YET. Anyone else interested? :)

There's a great place that I was introduced to that the community is super friendly and will actually answer your questions. The site is based in php and is really fast when you compare the scripts to that of other stock market simulator games. They also don't give you a million dollars to start out with which is so much more realistic.

Never hurts to learn something new! Just thought I'd pass along a good link.

Anywho, http://www.einvesting.com is the place to be. :lol:

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Interesting...

buy low, sell high, don't trust "investment experts" to give you useful advise (they know little more than you do).
Working the stock market is 90% gut feelings, 10% keeping up with business information relating to the companies you're interested in.

You could also try www.fool.com - you can go through their articles w/o having to subscribe. If you are new to investing, invest in a Mutual Fund that tracks an index (they are called index funds). Watch the fees, index funds should be no-load, with fees below .5%

Pay close attention to fees - if you are buying a stock, the fee for the purchase should be less than 2% of the cost of the purchase (ie. if the commission is $10, you should buy at least $500 of the stock)

If you want to combine mutual funds with buying individual shares, try sharebuilder.com - http://www.sharebuilder.com/AB/0206/V2/Index.asp this is a really good place to start.