Admittedly, I'm new to CSS but I am having some difficulty converting tables to CSS. Here is a CSS example for a simple 4 cell table that works fine -- but only without the DOCTYPE declaration (any DOCTYPE declaration)!

Does anyone know what, if anything, I am doing wrong ? Any help would be appreciated.

(Also I would like to see any successful examples anyone would like to post.)

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<html>
<head>
<style type="text/css">
	.TblContainer {
		width:400px;
		font-family:Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;
		background-color:yellow; 
		border:1px solid #CCCCCC;
		margin:3px 3px 3px 3px;
	}

.Row {
	}

.Cell {
		color:#000000;
		float:left;
		font-size:16px;
		text-align:center;
		width:49%;
	}
</style>
</head>
<body>
<div class="TblContainer">
	<div class="Row">
		<div class="Cell">Cell 1</div>
		<div class="Cell">Cell 2</div>
	</div>
	<div class="Row">
		<div class="Cell">Cell 3</div>
		<div class="Cell">Cell 4</div>
	</div>
</div>  
</body>
</html>

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

HTML tables are used for displaying tabular data on the page.
Div's are used to build the entire layout of the page. It gives more layout control using CSS.

And i dont see any thing wrong with your above code and it works fine with my browser . But i recommend you should use Html tables itself as you want just tabluar data.

HTML tables are used for displaying tabular data on the page.
Div's are used to build the entire layout of the page. It gives more layout control using CSS.

And i dont see any thing wrong with your above code and it works fine with my browser . But i recommend you should use Html tables itself as you want just tabluar data.

Thanx for the reply. I understand (and actually agree with) the argument but (call it self-education) I am still interested in determining to what extent css can do tables without using table tags.