My menu is a very large menu and editing it on each individual page is very time consuming (~160 lines of code per chapter and there are 11 chapters).

So I am wondering if I can place my menu into another html document and then call/import it to the currently viewed page. If it can be done without jscript I would be happy, as I am new to web development, but if not then that is alright, will have to learn it some time.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Yes, that is the foundation behind many websites
php asp shtml all have the ability to do server includes, all you need to do is find which of the above your server supports, and you can include the menu with a single statement, and it doesnt need to be a full html file, it just needs the menu, all the headers footers etc are predifined in the file doing the include, in php (files end with .php)it is <?php include('menufilename'); ?> at the point the menu is to sit
it is hugely easier than editing a multitude of separate menus

I have over 1600 pages on my site, but it really is 4 include files and a database, none of the viewable pages actually exist until you view them

I know that the server supports php. I am coding in VS Web Development express 2008, I am using it to validate while I code, everything that I have coded so far is just html and css, nothing else.

As of right now I am not sure how the final product will be hosted. It maybe loaded onto the server, or it may also be burnt onto a DVD and accessed only when needed from the DVD. I am not sure if burning it to a DVD and running it from the DVD will prevent me from using the import for my menu or not.

most includes require server processing, different to what is available on a browser,
if you burn the thumbdrive version (noinstall portable or a bunch of other names) of the ide that the development is done in onto the dvd as well, no problems, the ide will support the incl;udes