I'm having a problem with the base tag in that it's preventing the links from loading the pages that they link to. When I remove the tag it works but then the menu bar for the page at the top disappears which I need to stay. I'm fairly new to html and any information and/or help would be greatly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

code ? to make sure, but,
<base> the href that relative urls start from, easiest fix is kill the base and set the proper url to the menu include

Ah sorry about that. I'm thinking it has something to do with the new pages no being stored on the web server at the moment since they are still under development? The index page that this code is in isn't on the server either but that's my best guess for now.

<BASE href="http://www.cpi.com/" target="content">
  <LINK REL=StyleSheet HREF="interior.css" TYPE="text/css" MEDIA=screen>
<link rel='stylesheet' href='http://www.cpi.com/interior.css' type='text/css' media='screen'>

yes, not having the pages on the server location pointed by the base href will cause problems
you can comment out the base statement during development on the localhost, and re-enable it before uploading to the server, to make sure the rest of the links work

<!-- <base href='etc'> -->
<!-- commented out for development -->

hoping that the menu is a php/asp/shtml include so you only have to do any alterations once for all files

Hmmmm I modified the code to what you suggested but still the same problem. It is also opening a new tab when attempting to connect to the page, not sure if that helps at all.

Ah okay. I have it commented out and it works but that causes the menu to disappear. It looks like the menu is created via javascript? I didn't create it but I'm pretty sure this is where the menu is being called?

<script language="JavaScript" src="javascript/menu.js"></script>
<script language="JavaScript" src="javascript/menucontextbottom.js"></script>

<script language="JavaScript">
    showToolbar();