hi

i am new to CSS, XHTML and PHP, and have wrote a style sheet to display a navigation bar, with auto expanding widths etc...all the relative code is below

a:link {color: #008000; text-decoration: none}
a:visited {color: #cccccc; text-decoration: none}
a:active {color: #ff0000; text-decoration: underlined}
a:hover {color: #3300ff; text decoration: underlined}

#navigation {float: left; width: 100%; background: #000; height: 46px; padding: 10px 0px 0px 12px; background-image:url(navbg.png);}

#menu, #menu ul {padding: 0; margin: 0; list-style: none; line-height: 1;}

#menu li {float: left; font-size: 12px; font-weight: normal;}

#menu a {display: block; line-height: 38px; padding: 0px 17px 0px 17px; color: #FFFFFF; font-family: Arial, sans-serif; font-weight: 100;}

#menu a:hover {background: url(navb1.png) no-repeat top left; padding: 0px 7px 0px 17px; margin-right: 5px; font-weight: bold;}

#menu a:hover span {color: #FFFFFF; background: url(navb2.png) no-repeat top right; padding: 12px 5px 13px 0px; position: relative; left: 12px;}

used with the following HTML

<body>
    <div id="navigation">
        <ul id="menu">
            <li><a href="url">Link 1<span></span></a></li>
            <li><a href="url">Link 2<span></span></a></li>
            <li><a href="url">Link 3<span></span></a></li>
        </ul>
    </div>
</body>

i want to keep the layout as is, and add a Dropdown Menu to the navigation bar using CSS.

can anybody help me expand my code, to add a drop down menu to the page.

thanks for your help.

Contributors
Replies
Views
7 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by rowiki

There are LOADS of pure CSS dropdown examples. Even more with JS-enhanced dropdowns.

Essentially, the use nested lists (UL/LI). If you're supporting IE < 6, it can be a real pig and you may need to include html tables for a pure CSS solution. Hopefully, you won't be going down this route.

Here's just one example: