A lot of web developers are strongly opinionated that divs should be used for design and tables for tabular data, but I am still not entirely convinced that website designers should jump on it yet. I haved designed web sites using both, and in my experience I have found that carefully using tables produces more cross browser compatible designs than using divs carefully. Does anybody have any strong evidence or convictions on either side of the fence for this argument?

Recommended Answers

All 35 Replies

With divs, people can't steal your images if you use

style="background-image:url('/temp/img.jpg');"

unless they really want to

In my (about 5) websites, I find that divs load faster, but that's probably just my head. Tables for layouts are frowed upon by the most hard core "standards" people. I dunno, I started learning HTML with XHTML 1.0 Strict, and now I use 1.1, so I guess you could say I never did dabble in table layouts. Anyways... nuff babbling, I say divs :)

I also agree that divs load faster. People can steal your images either way ;) Table people can use table background="/temp/img.jpg" - In any case, I still say divs. The DaniWeb header, footer, and nearly all of the homepage are all div tags. Anyone find it not cross-browser compatible? Personally I feel that I can do more nifty things with div/css than I could do with tables to make it MORE cross-browser compatible ;)

im a tables man myself, i feel i can design just as good with them as i can with div's, but i dont do div's that much so i dunno. i think ill give div's a go and make a better educated desicion later. OFF TO CODE SOME MORE!!!!