Hello programmers!
I am a beginner in html using the w3 school website help as a guide.
Currently, I am working on an excercise website. The code is as following:

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>

<title><head> ------- Website  </head></title>

<body bgcolor= #FFCCFF BACKGROUND="background.gif">

<h1> What This Site Is All About: </h1>
<hr SIZE="2" COLOR="BLACK" WIDTH="50%" ALIGN="LEFT">
<p1 align="justify">
This is intended to be a semi-professional website for -------- by displaying <br>
his resume for those interested in employing him and by sharing personal stories for the viewer's enjoyment.<br>
If you are a member of the <b> NSA</b>, you probably know everything about him that there you need to know.<br> 
Otherwise, because of privacy concerns, much personal detail about him will not be available on this website.<br>
</p1>

<hr SIZE="2" COLOR="BLACK" WIDTH="50%" ALIGN="LEFT"> 

</body>

As you can see, I have an image with the file name background.gif that I want to display as my website's background.
However, the image is small, and thus, is automatically repeated. After looking at forums, I realized that there is a
way to resize the image automatically to the website's width using CSS, but not having experience with CSS, have no idea
how to solve this problem. Can anybody offer suggestions on how to solve this problem (with pure html, or giving a short
introduction to CSS)?

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Within your head section...try

<style>
 body {
      background-color:#ffffff;
      background-image = url('image.jpg')
      background-repeat:no-repeat;
      background-attachment:fixed;
      background-position:center; 
      background-size:cover;
 }
 </style>

Remove the style attribute from your body element.

Could you put the code that you suggested in context of my code?
I apoligize for asking you to repeat youself, but I am more of a visual learner, and the phrase Remove the style attribute from your body element.does not help my situation.