I am a web developer and I have built many websites. And over the years my designs is getting better but now I can't seem to figure out how to be better in design. I don't know how to draw but I have a somewhat good selection in color combination for a website.

My question is ... How do I get better in design?
It seems like I have the following options:

• Look for great websites on the web and see what they are doing.
  • Try to copy great looking websites.
  • Play around with some designs and try to figure out how to do it better.

If you have any advice please tell me.

Thanks,
Farris

Edited by happygeek: links removed...

Contributors
Replies
Views
1 Year
Discussion Span
Last Post by Петя_1

Your post reminds me of another question. Which is:

How do you get to Carnegie Hall?

The answer to that is the same as getting better at web sites. Practice, practice, practice.

There are folk that ask such questions but fib about the question in a vain attempt at SEO but let's go with your question.

Not only do you practice but you build a bigger team. If you need better graphics, there's a lot of untapped talent out there that may do the work for just a mention in the web site credits.

Edited by rproffitt

I know that I should practice, but what should I focus on? And regarding team building, I want to work by myself. I like creating websites from scratch.

I have removed the links from your post as they are not required in order to answer the question, and they could put some off of answering as they appear spammy.

Personally, I would have to agree with rproffitt in that if you can get better with practice then practice. If you can't get better with practice then hire in the talent you need as you need it.

You ask what you should focus on in your second post, something you have already answered in your first: look for great websites on the web and see what they are doing, play around with some designs and try to figure out how to do it better.