here is my dilemna! I recently bought a linux netbook and have found this little go getter, better than other window computers i have had and used. learning the ropes to my root terminal, and picking up every little bit of information i can obtain. which is when I fount this website. For the purpose of creating a stable large mem. cd burning monster on the desktop. I have just also learned about (LFS) but, Would like to know other than buying all the install linux software, if there is anything I might find useful. I am a newb.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

here is my dilemna! I recently bought a linux netbook and have found this little go getter, better than other window computers i have had and used. learning the ropes to my root terminal, and picking up every little bit of information i can obtain. which is when I fount this website. For the purpose of creating a stable large mem. cd burning monster on the desktop. I have just also learned about (LFS) but, Would like to know other than buying all the install linux software, if there is anything I might find useful. I am a newb.

If you're new to Linux LFS is going to be a hard distro to figure out. It's really intended for Linux geeks that want to build their own system.

Just go download Ubuntu and you can learn Linux slowly.

Also, Linux is free you don't have to buy any software.

Member Avatar for iamthwee

Ubuntu definitely, especially if you're new.

Version 10.04 is out and looks sweet. Just check the specs of your machine.

Whilst I agree that Ubuntu is a great Linux distro to get started with; Looking at the original post, the title mentions that the PC in question runs Windows ME, which implies to me that the hardware will be quite old. So perhaps a more lightweight distro would be in order.