Hey everyone, I'm a sophomore computer science student. As part of the major we have to take some math. I've taken Calc I, II, and I'm currently taking a Discrete Math course. I have to take one more math class, and I think I've narrowed it down to two classes: elementary linear algebra and introduction to mathematical proof. I was just wondering if you knew any applications of linear algebra/ mathematical proof in comp sci. I think linear algebra has importance when talking about graphics, but that's about it.

A speedy response would be appreciated, I have to register tomorrow... I've kinda procrastinated a bit.

Side note: I'm kind of struggling to find applications of discrete math in computer science, Aside from the graph data structure. If you could help me out there too that would be awesome as well.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Take Introduction to mathematical proof. It will make you a better, smarter programmer.

Another reason is that if you find yourself interested in graphics, it wouldn't be that hard to pick up the necessary linear algebra on your own. Linear algebra is not the hard part of graphics programming.

Edits:

- I think linear algebra is best learned in courses that use linear algebra to solve problems, not one that focuses on the subject itself. Introduction to mathematical proof may prepare you for such situations in similar or better ways than a linear algebra class would.

- Regarding discrete math: I think the Wikipedia article is a good place to start.