hi im new to programming and iv got an assignment which i dont even know how to start can some one help me out here are the questions

a) Write pseudocode for a main menu. Note: you are not expected to write pseudocode for the options,
only the code to navigate the menu is required.
b) Draw a flowchart for a main menu.
c) Using appropriate test data, test the pseudocode written in Task 3a) by producing test plans, desk
checks and dry runs.

firstly how do i start my pseudocode and how do you test it finally for the flow chart i understand but for a and c im totally lost hope some one can help me out :S

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

It's pseudocode, there aren't any rules to follow, just make sure your logic is sound. Some people find flowcharts more intuitive, so you could start with that part of the assignment and derive the pseudocode from your result.

To be perfectly frank, this smells like a Programming 101 assignment. I understand that it can be overwhelming when starting out, but presumably you learned how to do all of this in class. I have a hard time believing that you don't know how to start unless you weren't paying attention in class (in which case I have no reason to help you because you won't help yourself first).

thanks for the reply if i knew how to start i wouldn't have ask for help im 3 month behind my class since i came in late for a certain reason that i could start the class. so ive miss a lot on this ive got notes but without proper explanation the notes is partly useless.i didnt ask to give me the whole answer but a guide of how to approach this.please help out thanks

>ive got notes but without proper explanation the notes is partly useless
You haven't asked your teacher to explain the parts you don't understand? That's what he's paid to do, after all.

>i didnt ask to give me the whole answer but a guide of how to approach this.