Hi all,
This is my first time... and i'm not an sql guy by any means, but i can insert, update, blah blah...
I have a question to ask, i have a table that has
UniqueInt | Date1 | int1 | Date2 | varchar 1

I have duplicate records that i need to delete and i need to write an sql statement.

it goes like this,

1 | 1/1/2008 10:00:00 am | 1 | 12/15/2007 10:00:00 am| 123456
2 | 1/1/2008 10:00:00 am | 1 | 12/15/2007 10:30:00 am| 123456

delete the first record where int1 =1 and varchar1 is the same in both records and the difference between date2 in both records is less than 1 minute.

I know how to do the less than a minute "(DATEDIFF(minute, field1, field2) < 1)" within one record, but i don't how to do compare the same field name in 2 records

Is that possible?

Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

I can play with SQL Server in this problem
1- define a trigger [on delete] let this trigger commit delete if deleted row > 1 and let it insert one of deleted rows into table again.

DELETE FROM table WHERE date1 in (SELECT date1 FROM table) AND varchar1 in (SELECT varchar1 FROM table

that's not the optimal solution but I think it works, I just wake up now and found this question.

Hi Ramy,
when i tried your query, it erased all the records in the table. and i don't see where i'm specifying if Date2 is less than one minute!

Hi lebanese007,

If you are wanting a script that you can run to clean up the data in the table you can try the solution below. If this is an ongoing issue then it may be worth looking at putting a check during the insert to stop these additional rows. This may not be the best performance if the inserts are very frequent.

Anyway, here is a sample solution. I have simplified the table to the relevant parts only.

create table #test
(ID INT,
val INT,
txt VARCHAR(50),
dt DATETIME)

Insert into #test
Values (1, 10, 'a', '2008-1-31 12:00:00')
Insert into #test
Values (2, 10, 'a', '2008-1-31 12:00:30')
Insert into #test