Member Avatar for sjvr767

Hi,

Firstly, I'm not a programmer nor a web-developer, but rather a statistician. I am doing equity-related (shares / stocks) research and I need to place my data in a database (MySQL), since it is too big to work with in a spreadsheet.

I have weekly closing price, volume, market cap, PE etc data for about 900 companies over a 16 year period. Obvioulsy, I can't throw it all into one table, so I was considering a table per company with year and week defining the primary keys. But a join accross 900 table in order to find the 20 companies with the lowest market cap in the first week of 1990 would be very cumbersome.

So I'd like to know from anyone here how they would go about designing this database.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

First I suggest you sit down with a good book on relational database design ('Database Design For Mere Mortals' by Michael Hernandez and 'MySQL' by Paul DuBois come to mind). We can help you help yourself, but can't do your work for you.

Oh, I fully understand that you can't do the work for me and I'll have a look to see if I can't get hold of those books.

Was thinking (read "drawing diagrams") that I should maybe do a table per year. It will still result in a large number of records (less than 47 000), but fewer records than if I dumped all into one table. Making joins across 16 tables (one per year) should be easier than doing it across 900!

My big concern is the type of performance I'll get if I have a table with so 47 000 records... Is that big? Is too big?

Anyway, I'll experiment and report back on my results (might take a few days). Any further pointers are more than welcome in the mean time.

47000 records is trivial - MySQL can handle billions of records, and many companies use it for large databases and heavy traffic.