Hi folks......

I'm a bit new to this... played with DB's on an off for years...... now getting back to programming and web design, learning to play with all the big boy's toys etc.
LOL

Yet I must admit that I have fallen for the simplicity of access's ability to generate the user front end so easily.... is there not a similar way to do the same using php or even html?

Now I've got software to connect to mysql and generate the DB's backend much like access, and think this is a god send, as I find it easier to construct with a visual aid rather than the old ascii appearance....

I've seen software that claims to be able to take asp and turn it to php... so I am assuming that it should be able to take a database front end f asp and turn it into a database front end of php?
(jaguar asp to php)

So, I'm not sure 100%, and thought I'd ask....
Is there not software that can link up to a mysql DB and visually build user frontends as in access?

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

phpMyAdmin is the best bet.

will that have a forms like interface that access does to creat front ends?
I mean, a visula builder...wysiwyg sort of thing, or is it merely a visual DB builder?

I suppose it's not completely like Access. It's just a visual DB builder; you still need to have some sort of knowledge w/MySQL in order to move around in it.

hmmm...well I learned access in 1 month (the basics), and I'm pretty good with DB design in general... so it shouldn't take to longh to get the basics... it's all teh advanced stuff that concerns me...still, I'll get there (Just asfter I finsih bodging through CSS!)

MySQL = easy. What do you know about Access? How to use it? Or do you know the actual querying language?

I know how to use access... pretty good... not to hot on the sql language, yet can get it to do the simple stuff (which you can do with access any way, so no great advantage there ! LOL).