I'm new to mysql and I need some more practice with this stuff since were going to have a test soon (this is not a homework assignment). One thing I still don't get is how to check if two tables contain an equal set of values.

Heres the practice problem I came up with based on a problem given where we had to find all sailors who rented all boats after a certain date.

My Problem:
I need to be able to see what sailors have rented the same boats as john doe rented after May 5, 2009. Heres my setup:

Sailor ( name: varchar(20), sid: integer)
Boat ( name: varchar(20), bid: integer)
Rental ( sid: integer, bid: integer, day: date)

and what I've tried so far:

create view john_doe_rentals as
select b.bid
from sailor s, boat b, rental r
where s.sid = r.sid and ( = 'John Doe') and r.date > "5/5/09" and rbid = b.bid;

create view sailor_rentals as
select s.name, r.bid
from sailor s, result r, john_doe_rentals j
where s.sid = r.sid and (s.name != 'John Doe') and r.date > "5/5/09" and j.bid = r.bid;

select name
from sailor_rentals s
where exist (select * from john_doe_rentals);

This gives me a syntax error. If anybody could help me out it'd be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

select b.bid

Here I guess you have forgotten to mention what equals to 'John Doe'.

select b.bid

Here what is result ? Or should it be rentals.

Do you need to do this automaticaly all the time?
If it is just something you need to do once in a while and would like to see the differences graphically I would suggest you use our tool SQLMerger for this, this is an easy and a preferable solution.

What is the syntax error you get?

The first view should be:

select b.bid
where s.sid = r.sid and ( s.name = 'John Doe') and r.date > "5/5/09" and rbid = b.bid;

Added "s.name"

maybe that is where the syntax error comes from?

Do you need to do this automaticaly all the time?