Hi everyone,

It's my first time with looping through data in a query. I know there are two ways of doing this and one is using CURSOR (I read it'snot the nicest thing to use). Wouldn't mind hearing your thoughts.

I will copy and paste my first attempt at usingCURSOR and FETCH. I need to loop through the results from a select statement and put them into a temp table called tblMain. Here it goes:

--keep in mind #tblMain has already been created...

--declaring my looper
DECLARE ACREmpsCursor CURSOR SCROLL FOR

--for the following query
SELECT DISTINCT
    date_time, 
    ssn,
    emplid,
    employee_name,
    division,
    payroll_sect
  FROM tblRecords a

WHERE ((Finalized = 0)
			or
			(Finalized = 1 and date_time = currentPayrollDate ))
    ORDER BY Division, payroll_sect, employee_name

-- I need to store above results into #tblMain, not sure how this 
-- part works...
-- does ACREmpsCursor hold the result set from the above query?
OPEN ACREmpsCursor;
FETCH NEXT FROM ACREmpsCursor;

-- while there is a record, do the stmts between begin and end..?
WHILE @@FETCH_STATUS = 0
BEGIN

INSERT INTO #tblMain(emplid, name, division, payroll_sect)
	VALUES(emplid, employee_name, division, payroll_sect)

END

-- doesn't quite work...

Here's the error message:
"Msg 128, Level 15, State 1, Procedure getACRSummaryEmployeesDuplicate, Line 52
The name 'emplid' is not permitted in this context. Only constants, expressions, or variables allowed here. Column names are not permitted."

So it has a problem with 'emplid'. Am I to use variables like "select @tempEmplid = emplid ... from tblScanRecord..." ?

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

The first question I have is why are you using a cursor just to fill a temp table when you can simply fill the temp table with your select statement.

Select emplid, name, division, payroll_sect
Into #tableMain
FROM tblRecords a
WHERE ((Finalized = 0) or