Hi. I am complete beginner in databases, so please bear with me stupid questions.

I am just doing for fun a simple exercise. A faculty have students and each student have different subjects.

My question is, how to store the different subjects in the db?

I could make up some elaborate system like a field subjects and insert the different subjects id's this student has, separating them with "|"s.

Even though my knowledge in db is terrible limited, this seems to me like a very programming oriented approach. Is this the right way to go about it? If not, what is?

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Off the top of my head, I can come up with several database entities to represent a college environment. This only took a couple of minutes to layout, so it can be expanded further and obviously not all fields are represented for each table.

Classes
CourseID
CourseTitle
CourseDescription

Teachers
TeacherID
FirstName
LastName
HireDate
Tenured
TenureDate

Buildings
BuildingID
BuildingName

Classroooms
RoomID
BuildingID
RoomNumber
RoomFloor
RoomOccupancy

CourseSections
SectionID
CourseID
TeacherID
RoomID
MeetingDays
MeetingTime
MaxStudents

Students
StudentID
FirstName
LastName

CourseSectionRoster
SectionID
StudentID

Thanks for your reply. However, I haven't been able to solve my question with it.

Repharsing, how can I store the subjects a student will have? Is it a good idea to have subject_id1 and subject_id 2 separated with "|" ?

You wouldn't want to do that, no.

You may want to look into a database concept called normalization. The quick, quick summary is that you cut down on data duplication by creating meaningful entities to describe your data and then connecting that data with other data using only what's necessary to make that link.