This has become a horror, a horror I tell you.

I am not a techie. I am not a developer. I do not want to be a developer. I am trying to set up a pro bono program for a non-profit law office that serves the poor. Every time I try to look into anything to do with the computer, the network, my web site, ANYTHING, I am bombarded by haughty, presumptuous verbage and mysterious, impenetrable terminology and acronyms. I am sick in my stomach from all this. I cannot go and get a whole new education. I need to set up a simple website with a few simple links. I need to create a database to use in my office to track cases and clients and lawyers and fundraising. I don't have hundreds (thousands?!) of dollars to spend on bitchin' new programs that I don't have time to learn anyway. I got a hosting service with a Moveable Type platform--I guess that's the right word-- but support is drek. There's a MySQL database with my account, but all the "support" for it already presumes I know everything. I have MS Access on my system at work, but I don't know how to use it, and my host is Linux (Unix?) based (one of those) and can't take Access. I don't know where to turn or what to learn or how to invest my small quotient of time for all this.

Jeeeeezus. People are losing their homes. Children are getting beaten up by foster parents. Little old grannies are getting swindled out of their Social Security. I kinda have a lot of sort of pressing issues to deal with already. Is there any simple, non-smart-ass, non-MCS degree solution? All I need is a clean, simple website and an accessible, simple database and simple instructions for how to use them.

I'm asking sincerely, is this too much to hope for? I thought everything was supposed to be so "user-friendly" nowadays, but everything I find and read assumes I have some fairly advanced understanding already. Am I screwed? Should I just stick to boxes of file folders and lists on a legal pad? :sad:

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies