I'm relatively new to access and have a problem. I have multiple rows of information on a form, and each of these rows has a few text boxes and one combo box. The combo box needs to have different information in it based on another field in the row. The combo box is Units, and if the Measurement Type is "Length" for example, then the combo box would populate itself with "inches", "cm", "mm". There are about 8 different Measurement Types and each has a different list of units. My question is whether or not this is possible given the current form design. Attached are two pictures. The first one is the form in Design view, the second is in form view.

For Example,
In the combo box marked A, I want the drop down to contain "cm", "inches", "mm".
In the combo box marked B, I want the drop down to contain"lbs", "kg", "g".
In the combo box marked C, I want the drop down to contain "inch-lbf", "ft-lbf", "oz-in", "oz-ft".
And each one as we go down the line from there could have a different set of values.

Is it possible to have all of these at the same time?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

What do you mean by "drop down"? once, what ive done was i had to combos so, for example lets suppose the second one was dependong on the first on, so lets suppose:

First combo is 1 - Second Combo is 1, 2, 3
Second combo is 2 - Second Combo is 4, 5, 6
Third combo is 3 - Second Combo is 7, 8 , 9

It was easy to do it, but apparently you have a list of records, and i think my way does not work for you. Anyway, what i did was, I created one combo, and in it was 1, 2, 3 and i named it First_Combo and then I created another combo, and in it was 1, 2, 3 and I named it Second_Combo_1, then I created another combo, and in it was 4, 5, 6 and I named it Second_Combo_2 and finally I created another combo, and in it was 7, 8, 9 and I named it Second_Combo_3, Then i used visual basics to put it working, the code was something like:

If First_Combo = "1" then
Second_Combo_1.Visible = True