Please help !!!
I am designing a database system and I am a bit stuck and do not know my next step forward. I am using SQL Server 2000 to develop a database system from scratch for a medium sized company which does not have an IT dept therefore I have little or no help.

this is what I want to do although I am not very sure how to do it. I want to develop the front end for SQL SERVER 2000 using HTML using the middleware ODBC!!! though not very sure how to go about it.

The other general Qns?? since this is my first time using MS SQL Server 2000 what are the stages that I need to do in order to complete this project, like I said before this is what I have done
· Created the database
· Created the tables
· Assigned the primary keys
· Assigned the relations (relationship diagram)
. Done the stored procedures
. Roles and users (Granting them different access)

My ultimate goal is to develop a web based database so that workers can log online and be able to view and update the details, as their access rights will allow them.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I don't see that you have missed anything in setting up the database. What language do you intend to use on the frontend? PHP, ASP.NET etc ...

I intent to use ASP although i cannot get IIS on the machine which is window 2000 proffessional.now i do not know the step by step of doing this because i want to use ODBC as the middleware and ASP as the front end

I don't have any experience with the older version of ASP I am afraid, I have only ever used ASP.NET and ADO for Database connectivity on a web project. Why do you specifically want to use ODBC by the way? I don't see why you cannot get IIS installed in a win2k box. Do you not have it on your install disks and the option to add it in the add/remove panel?

I have now installed IIS. The reason I wanted to use ODBC was because I have seen it was on the machine I had used JDBC before and it wasn’t installed on the machine so I wanted to use ASP.