I'm a novice when it comes to MySQL so I'm not too sure about how to go about this. I have two tables, and both tables have two fields I need to deal with.

Table investors has fields Dealer and Rep. Table advisors has fields dealer and rep.
investors.Dealer = advisors.dealer AND investors.Rep = advisors.rep

What I need is to find records in Table One with A and B, but those values for A and B are not in Tables Two's a and b. Make sense?

I found some sql statements that should find what I need, but using only one field.

select * from A left join B on A.x = B.y and B.y is null

How can I use this with both my Dealer/dealer AND Rep/rep fields?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Do you mean that you want to select all records from table A with an x/y combination (x,y being field names) which does not occur in table B?
That would be

select A.* from A left join B on A.x=B.x and A.y=B.y where B.x is null

That basically what I want, but the second table will have some x's but not all the y's. Some example to make it clearer:

Scenario 1:
Table A has a record with say x=1 and y=2.
Table B has no records with x=1 or y=2.

Scenario 2:
Table A has a record with x=4 and y=5.
Table B has a record with x=4 but no y=5.

Scenario 2 happens quite often, but Scenario 1 is also happening.
This is needed to create a report so records can be added to Table B as necessary.

So what would be the desired result from your example in scenario 2? Do you want to retrieve any records which have A.x=B.x OR A.y=B.y?

I need all results from BOTH scenarios. Like I said, my report needs to catch everything where values of x or y or both are missing from the second table so if they ARE missing, new records can be added to include that x/y combination.