I am fairly new to MySQL and having some problems figuring out how to format a couple queries using the following database:
branch (branch_name, branch_city, assets)
customer (customer_name, customer_street, customer_city)
account (account_number, branch_name, balance)
loan (loan_number, branch_name, account)
depositor (customer_name, account_number)
borrower (customer_name, loan_number)

I need to find all customers with accounts at a branch where a depositor names "Hayes" has an account (that would be in the depositor table, not borrower)
and the name and average balance of all customers who live in Harrison and have at least 2 accounts.
I don't know if you can help given the information I have posted here but if more is needed please let me know.
Hopefully this will be a big help in my understanding of MySQL

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Please tell what are the foreign keys you are using is that ids or names. Because your given seem to have names as foreign keys if it is so then.

1-SELECT CUSTOMER_NAME, ACCOUNT_NUMBER FROM DEPOSITOR WHERE DEPOSITOR_NAME LIKE '%Hayes%'
2-your other query is very lengthy and tricky it will take time to get sorted out still trying that... which language is you using at the front end? cann't you perform these checks at front end?

Please tell what are the foreign keys you are using is that ids or names. Because your given seem to have names as foreign keys if it is so then.

1-SELECT CUSTOMER_NAME, ACCOUNT_NUMBER FROM DEPOSITOR WHERE DEPOSITOR_NAME LIKE '%Hayes%'
2-your other query is very lengthy and tricky it will take time to get sorted out still trying that... which language is you using at the front end? cann't you perform these checks at front end?

Yes, the names are generally the foreign keys.

and I'm sorry, I'm not entirely sure I understood the last part of that. This is mostly an exercise for me learning to use MySQL. we are just writing the queries in a file using the SQL language and then running the using a