Member Avatar for casheltown

I'm trying to use Microsoft Access to produce a contacts database for a local charity. Unfortunately I can't get my head completely round relational databases. I understand the basics but can't solve a particular problem. Can anyone help?

I currently have four tables (Contact, Organisation, Children, SpecialNeeds) that need the following relationships:

• One Contact may have many Children;
  • One Child may have many SpecialNeeds;
  • One Organisation may have many Contacts;
  • Some Contacts have no Organisation.

It is the last of these that's causing me the problem. We need to have individual contacts who may, or may not, be part of an organisation. Each time I connect the primary keys I have a problem if I try to enter a Contact without them being in an Organisation. Any thoughts (explained simply for an almost complete novice) most welcome.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

1 One Organisation may have many Contacts;

2 Some Contacts have no Organisation.

these 2 are conflicting needs, you need to decide first on this which is preferrable for you

and by the way what u mean by contacts, its just address or anything else

Contacts is basic address information.

I understand that they are conflicting but need both options. The situation is that there are lots of contacts, some of them will be staff of partner organisations, many of them will just be individual members or supporters of the charity. Would this suggest I need two sets of tables, one ofor individuals and one for organisations, with no relationship between them? A slight problem arises because some contacts would then be on both lists.

contact (contact_id (pk), contact_name) independent

organistion(org_id (pk), org_name) independent

contact_child(child_id (pk), contact_id (fk), child_name)
child_needs(child_id (fk,pk), child_need_no (pk), child_need_description)

contact_organisation (contact_id (pk,fk),org_id(pk,fk))