Hi,

I am a complete novice with MySQL but have been persevering with it for a project I am doing at work. I have created a results server to analyse and collect data I receive from quizzes I have created using QuestionWriter HTML5.

I have figured out how to run a query and have a vague understanding of the 'language' used.

The questions I have created are multiple choice, I want to be able to run a query on a specific question so i can see how many people have answered a, how many people answered b, etc. I have used the following query which I believe is half of the solution:

SELECT 'QuestionReference','Response'
FROM qw5questiondata
WHERE 'QuestionReference' LIKE ...............

......... is just whatever the specific question reference is.

This query displays to me every single persons answer with the question reference repeated. What I want is a two column table which shows me the answer and how many times it has been chosen. So for 20 people the result of the query might look like.

A 10
B 5
C 2
D 1

I hope that is clear! If anyone can suggest a query for me to use or just some advice would be great.

Thanks in advance,

Will

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

You'll need to use GROUP BY so you can use COUNT. If you can show how your table and data looks we can be more specific.

Yeh I thought it would be a combination of groupby and count. The data is in a table which looks like this

Question Reference    Response        Response Summary
      Question 1               a             ...........
      Question 2               b             ...........
      Question 1               c             .........
      Question 3               a             ...........
      Question 2               a             ..........
      Question 1               d             ..........