I can't figure out how to perform a calcuation in a query and have the result output for use in a chart within a report. Forgive me I'm a newbie

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Okay, first things first. What type of calculation are you attempting to do in the query? Are you calculating across multiple fields? Please provide a little more information about the calculation and the table structure if any the calculated fields are based upon.

Chester

i just did this for my coursework

in the Field: section under the queries design view you can tyupe things like this.

GPPerCentre: [num_candidates]*[payment_eachscript]

(where gppercentre is what the field will be called, and num_candidates and payment_eachscript are existing firlds in the query)

You can also use queries to calculate fields from several tables, perform regular calculations, etc. You can also perform calculations inside a report based on grouping and that may be easier, but I need to know a little more about what the calculation is and the underlying table structure.

Member Avatar for firstbateyboy

Hey this helps me too - thanks.

Except a little difference for me: I'm wanting a calculation using a decimal constant as follows:
HomePremium: [HomeSum]*[0.00119371]

What I'm trying to do is auto calculate a house insurance premium based on the user input of a Sum Insured called HouseSum.

Eg: Enter $300,000 for HouseSum and the autocalculation in the query multiplies this by a constant (which I have chosen/invented for simplicity) giving the answer: $358.13

But MS Access wont accept my constant. It will multiply two fields easy enough, but not [field] * my [constant].

Where am I going wrong?
Cheers

Is your field called HomeSum or HouseSum? You have it written both ways in your question. Try it without putting [ or ] around your constant.

Is your field called HomeSum or HouseSum? You have it written both ways in your question. Try it without putting [ or ] around your constant.