Is there a short way to determine how many digits are in an integer? I'm new to C++, and writing a program that's supposed to a number in one column, and its square in the next. I'm using setw to manipulate the width of the coulms.

Here is those code:

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
using std::cout; using std::setw; using std::streamsize;
int main()
{
	const int MAX = 100;
	for (int i = 0; i != MAX;++i)
	{
		cout << setw(2) << i << setw(5) << i * i << std::endl;
	}
}

This works fine as is, but when I change MAX to 1000, the output gets screwed. I know it's because neither column is wide enough to hold the output, so they get jammed together. I want to make the program robust, so that the output would scale to accomodate shrinking and growing MAX.
I have an idea that if I can do something like this it would work:

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
using std::cout; using std::setw; using std::streamsize;
int main()
{
	const int MAX = 100;
	for (int i = 0; i != MAX;++i)
	{
		int square = i * i;
		cout << setw(length_of_i) << i << setw(length_of_square) << square << std::endl;
	}
}

Thoughts?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

>>Is there a short way to determine how many digits are in an integer
In a loop keep dividing it by 10 until the result is 0

while(n > 0)
{
   n  /= 10;
   count++;
}

I thought of writing a function to do that, but I was sort of looking for an inline solution to see maybe if it was possible. I feel like I'm missing what the book is trying to get me to learn here... Anyway for the sake of moving on I'lll roll with this.

Question's still open for anyone who might know an inline solution.

Inline solution below

int __inline count_digits(int n)
{
   // blabla
}

Question's still open for anyone who might know an inline solution.