I would like to include .swf file in a vb 2005 program. I have no idea how and where to include the .swf file. It is inside the picture box? Please guide me, I am new in vb and have no idea how 2 do it. thx

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

no, its not inserted in picture box. to play swf file you must use shockwaveflash. find this component and add to your toolbox.
right click on your toolbox (or control + T) -> in tab controls find "shockwave flash" -> select it and it will shown on your toolbox control.
use this control on your form.
then add this code to play :

Private Sub Play_Click()
ShockwaveFlash1.Play
End Sub

Private Sub Pause_Click()
ShockwaveFlash1.StopPlay
End Sub

Private Sub Rewind_Click()
ShockwaveFlash1.Rewind
End Sub

Private Sub LoadMovies_Click()
Call ShockwaveFlash1.LoadMovie(0, "C:\Documents and Settings\Jerry\My Documents\Games Flash\ninja.swf")
End Sub
commented: i learning Here +1

when i try 2 place the "Shockwave Flash Object" from my toolbox into my design. The system prompt "Failed to import ActiveX control. Please ensure it is properly registered.". What does this mean? Since i am using vb2005, am i entering the wrong forum? vb2005 should b group into vb .NET?

yes, vb 2005 is group of .net and sorry for the post its for vb 6. ok. this i post an attachment of simple flash player.

Flash Player.zip

for activeX problem see this link : http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=2535137&SiteID=1

uh ja i followed ur instructions and nothing happened?

im new at this and would realli appreciate ur help? where am i supposed to put the code u mentioned?

thanx!

hi thando..welcome to daniweb friend :).
what version of vb that u using to play flash??
vb 6 or vb.net cause derice use .net.
if u using vb.net, u can download the file for flash player using .net on my post above # 4, named "Flash Player.Zip"
what the problem that u facing now?error or what?
Post your code, so we can help u.