Hello, I am pretty new to C++, and I have a question:

I am, and have been using Dev-C++

I used this code, to delete a text file on my desktop. The first time around, it worked perfectly. Given the file example name of "dafile".

#include <stdlib.h> // needed to use system() function

int main() {
system("del dafile.txt");
return 0;
}

I compiled the file, and ran it, it worked. However, later on, I used the same code, ran it in the same conditions and nothing happened at all.

This system command worked fine the first time around, I have no idea what I have done wrong.

I have tried running this on other computers, in the same conditions, and nothing worked. Has it anything to do with the complied data? There was no errors when I checked it the second time...

Thank you. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

*Sorry about spelling errors*

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

<< Given the file example name of "dafile".
Here the name is dafile

<< system("del dafile.txt");
And here the name is dafile.txt

Do you have a file named 'dafile' on your desktop and you are trying to delete 'dafile.txt', which does not exist?

is the file in the same director where the *.exe is located ? If not then your program can't delete it because the program doesn't know where to find it. And you don't have to use the system() function to delete a file -- just use remove() function.

Ah, yes! Thank you, it was the the fact that it was in the wrong area. With this in mind, is it possible to remove a file that is in an UNKNOWN location on the computer according to the .exe. A file that the computer has to find using the scripting?

Thank you...