Hi All,

I need help to sort out my C Practical question. I am new to C and looking forward to do programming can some one help for the following.

1. How to write a program in c to calculate file size from KB to Bits?
2. How to write a program to find the estimated time needed to receive a 4000KB file at the rate in ADSL connections range from 256000b/sec to 1500000b/sec.
3. How to write a program to find the estimated time needed to receive a 4000KB file at the rate where 300 KB took 10 Sec to get transfered.

Regards,

Alex

Recommended Answers

All 24 Replies

1) limits.h has CHAR_BIT that defines the number of bits in a byte for your machine. Just find the file size and multiply by CHAR_BIT.

2) This wants two answers -- convert KB to bytes by multiplying by 1024, then divide that answer by the number bytes per second to get the answer.

3) simple 4th grade math problem that you should be able to figure out with pencil & paper.

Hi Dragon,

Thanks for the answer. I do understand it easy with a pencil and paper, but I am asking for a program which is return in C language. where it calculate a 44KB file into bits and give the output while compiling.

If you could help that will be great.

Regrads,
Alex

Yes I can help you but not write the program for you. Give it a try yourself and post what you have done.

To find the size of the file first use FILE pointer and call fopen() to open it for reading, then call fseek() to move the file pointer to the end of the file, call ftell() to get current location, which will be the file size. After that call fclose() to close the file handle. Now you have all the information to do the calculations.

You will have to read your textbook to find out how to use each of the functions I mentioned above. You can also find them online by using google.

commented: Sound advise +7

I am asking for a program which is return in C language

I'm the giver and you're the receiver. copy it directly into your assignment and hand it in.