Hey,

I'm a C++ programmer, but I'm beginning to learn Java, and from what I see so far the two languages are very similar. The main difference I hear is that C++ has pointers and Java doesn't, but from my understanding Java does have pointers in a sense, the user is just not aware of it.

From what I've read in my book so far, I am under the impression that when you declare a variable of a complex data type (not sure if that's the right word, I mean like a self-defined class vs. an int) it is automatically a pointer. You cannot make it so that it is not a pointer. And when you declare a variable with a simple data type, it is not a pointer, and nothing you can do will make it a pointer? Is this assumption correct?

Like, this java code (sorry if there are minor syntax errors, as I'm used to C++):

Student bill;
bill = new Student();
bill.GPA = 4.0;

is equivalent to this C++ code:

Student* bill;
bill = new Student;
bill->GPA = 4.0;

Is that a correct "translation"?

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

no. Java has no pointers as such.
Everything that's not a primitive is a reference.
While these act in some ways similarly to C++ pointers, they're more like C++ references.

I am under the impression that when you declare a variable of a complex data type (not sure if that's the right word, I mean like a self-defined class vs. an int) it is automatically a pointer.

Yes, they are called "reference types". The references point to objects.

You cannot make it so that it is not a pointer.

You mean that you cannot have objects as values, then yes.

And when you declare a variable with a simple data type, it is not a pointer

Yes, they are called primitive types.

and nothing you can do will make it a pointer?

Basically. There is no way to "take the address" of a variable. But you can copy the value of the variable into a field of a wrapper object, which then can be pointed to by a reference.