Hi everyone,

I am new to Python, I am stuck with this problem.
"If your initially deposit $10000 into the account, and earns 6% interest per year, to meet your monthly expense, at the beginning each month you withdraw $500, how long the account will be depleted?
if you withdraw $10 per month, how long the account will be depleted?
how about $50? $100?
print the end balance and number of years the account will last.

Here is I've written so far:

print"This program calculate how long your account can last."
c = initial = float (raw_input ("Enter the initial in the account:"))
d = monthly_withdrawal = float (raw_input ("Enter the monthly withdrawal:"))
i = yearly_interest_rate = float (raw_input ("Enter yearly interest rate:"))
mrate = 1/1200

year = 0

shortfall = d - mrate*c

for i in range (year+1):
if shortfall <= 0:
print "The account will last forever !"
if shortfall > 0:
year = year + 1
balance = c - shortfall
print year, balance

but it does not work. can anybody help?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

One thing to note is that you have to do the calculations over and over until the money is depleted.

One thing i would do is consider how i would ad interest. id they enter 6% that is the same as balance*0.06. That is how much interest is added to be added on.

So balance*1.06 = new balance after interest added on. This is a geometric series with the common ration r=1.06 (in this case) and n is unknown.

geometric series use the following formula

Un = ar**(n-1)

where r is the common ration, and a is the first term.
note you will also have to include the fact that x is taken of at the start of each month, which could be something like this not entrily sure don't have the time to sit and work it out right now but

Un = ar**(n-1) - x*(n-1)