inches = in;
	}

void showdist()
	{
		cout << feet << "\'-" << inches << "\"";
	}

friend Distance operator+(Distance, Distance);
};

Distance operator+(Distance d1, Distance d2)
{
	int f=d1.feet + d2.feet;
	float i=d1.inches + d2.inches;

if (i>12.0)
	{ f++; i-=12.0; }

return Distance(f,i);
}

int main()
{
	Distance d1=2.5;
	Distance d2=1.25;
	Distance d3;

cout << "d1 = "; d1.showdist();
	cout << "d2 = "; d2.showdist();

d3=d1+10.0;

cout << "d3 = "; d3.showdist();		// distance + float

d3=10.0+d1;

cout << "d3 = "; d3.showdist();		// float + distance

return 0;
}

After compile above sample code, I get the following error. fatal error C1001: INTERNAL COMPILER ERROR May be I am a beginner and always get an error :confused: although I run the simple code.:icon_smile:

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Just out of curiosity, could you post the complete error message, i.e. including also the line number which causes this.

I think your code should compile as such, so there is actually a problem with your compiler in this case (I suppose it is VC 6.0 or earlier?). In that case, you could grab yourself e.g. VC 2005 or 2008 Express and/or CodeBlocks, which are free.

This is what the documentation states about this error:

INTERNAL COMPILER ERROR
(compiler file file, line number)

The compiler cannot generate correct code for a construct, probably due the combination of an expression and an optimization option. Try removing one or more optimization options and recompiling the function containing the line indicated in the error message.