Hello! Im a java noob and I need to create a program that determines whether the input is an integer or not , can anyone help me out? thanks in advance! btw I have to use Scanner from java.util. , I have no idea on how to check if its an integer or not. Before, I was using C and in C there's a function called isnum() but since Im new at java I have no idea what to do.
any help is greatly appreciated :)

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Let's assume that you use Scanner to read input: Scanner.readLine() I think is the method and you store it into a String variable. There is a method that turns the String into an int:

String s = "10";
int i = Integer.parseInt(s);

The int i variable has the int value 10. If s is not an int number then the Integer.parseInt(s); will throw an Exception:

try {
 String s = "a";

int i = Integer.parseInt(s); //this line will throw a NumberFormatException. It will also throw it if you use Integer.parseInt to turn into an int the String: "2.35" which is a float number

System.out.println("The s is the int number: " + s); 

} catch (NumberFormatException nfe) {
 System.out.println("The s is not a number, s: " + s);
}

For more information:
Integer
Double
Float

Ill give it a try THANKS!!!

can anyone give me another solution?

You can for-loop the String using the charAt method and checking each time if the char taken is one of those: '0', '1', '2', '3', '4', '5', '6', '7', '8', '9', '.' . Also you should check if the '.' appears more than once

Sorry for the second post but here is the API for the charAt: String

thanks agen

can anyone give me another solution?

Why would they? You haven't explained what you have tried, what problems you encountered, your thoughts on potential solutions, or anything demonstrating any effort on your part. Programming involves thinking for yourself and "give me another solution" certainly doesn't imply that you have done any of that.