I am a beginner and am learning C++ and QT

I would like to know how to make an interface like the one in windows media player 11 - one that is completely custom including the minimise and close icons.

What would this involve?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

You know, it seems that introducing GUIs to the beginner programmer is a little bit like opening pandora's box. I mean, I'm not saying that in doing so we release all the evils of programming... It just seems to me that when you are new to a language or programming in general, trying to tackle advanced topics will only bring about pain and suffering (or hours of torture trying to decipher what seems like cryptic code to anyone not familiar with the language syntax and semantics, libraries, etc). My fear is that, in doing so, the new programmer loses motivation and gets turned off learning...

That said, GUIs are probably the most exciting thing to most new programmers. I don't really know what I'm accomplishing in this post, I just guess I want to stress that if your new, it might not be easy, and it might be a leap to accomplish some of the things you might be dreaming of, so just stay motivated (even if progress is slow) and you'll get there eventually...Thats my inspirational/motivational tip for the day. aha :)

Anyway, if your using windows, investigate Win32.

Uhhh, this link is a recent discussion that gets into some books and things about GUIs (scroll through the posts, I think niek and William leave some links). There are also TONS of other discussions on this forumn and the net.

Good luck

Thanks for the advice, although you didn't hint on an answer to my original question.

>you didn't hint on an answer to my original question.
It involves creating your own graphics and piecing them together manually. I'm not familiar with Qt, but it might give you the option of skinning your interface, which simplifies the piecing together part.

I do apologize. Permit me to clarify: