Hi, I am a beginner in C++, I was just wondering what is it good for. This is probably a dumb question but I was searching on yahoo and google (What is C++ good for), and I did not find any real answers. What do people use it for? Is there a website which talks about uses for C++ that anyone knows of? What are the PRACTICAL APPLICATIONS of C++ and even C for that matter.

Thank You!

Recommended Answers

All 36 Replies

>What are the PRACTICAL APPLICATIONS of C++ and even C for that matter.
Literally anything. Pick a program and it was probably written in some combination of C and C++, or written with a language that was implemented using C or C++.

But I mean if I got a job which required C++ knowledge, what would they ask me to program? Like I guess it could be anything but what are common practical applications of C++. Can you name a specific program that used C++/C programming.... that people may be using everyday.

>But I mean if I got a job which required C++ knowledge, what would they ask me to program?
You're not very quick, are you? If you get a job writing C++ code, and C++ can be used pretty much anywhere, then it stands to reason that they could ask you to write anything. It depends on what the job is. For example, I don't really expect anyone to ask me to write an operating system, because that's not in my job description.

>Can you name a specific program that used C++/C
>programming.... that people may be using everyday.
Windows, pick any version.

> But I mean if I got a job which required C++ knowledge, what would they ask me to program?
Most jobs will read something like
"You're required to implement the user interface of the new burn-o-matic toaster using the C++ programming language".

In other words, look at what the company does, and that will give you an idea.