Hi,

I'm a beginner for Perl. Just want to ask a few simple question:

1. Which Text Editor tools is the best for Perl?

2. Some recommend JEditor. I installed it but having problem with the Exuberant CTags. After i downloaded it I cant seem to install and apply it.

3. Any ebook anyone will recommend? (share with me if possible??)

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

For an editor you might want to use a 'upgraded' version of notepad with syntax highlighting such as notepad++or try komodo edit which is avaible from activestate, the same place you probably got the perl interpreter from http://www.activestate.com/store/download.aspx?prdGUID=20f4ed15-6684-4118-a78b-d37ff4058c5f
I do not know why you would want JEditor because i just googled it and it is a java IDE, and perl inst java :)

<snipped>

Hope that helps

HLA91

commented: useful +1

What you want is an IDE, a good free one is Perl Express

http://www.perl-express.com/

I think its only for Windows operating systems. Install activeperl from www.activestate.com then use the IDE to run write and run your perl scripts.

I believe you can also use it as just an editor if you don't want to install perl.

Some free ebooks:

http://www.perl.org/books/library.html

Most still relevant if a little out of date in reagards to the newest version of perl: 5.10.

commented: useful +1

Thanks guys....

I tried Komodo Edit 4.3. It's quite good. Easy to use and simple.

Anyway, thanks guys for all the suggestions...

I tried Komodo Edit 4.3. It's quite good. Easy to use and simple.

Anyway, thanks guys for all the suggestions...

Looks like a real good editor. Good choice. I still recommend you install perl and use and IDE, makes writing scripts much easier.

What I actually did was installing perl and Komodo Edit 4.3.

Is there any difference between IDE and an Editor? Komodo Edit 4.3 is an editor? Or an IDE?

And the IDE is it comes together with the ActivePerl?? I cant seems to find it though.