Hello,

I'm a newbie to this, but I am determined. I wanted to test perl-based functionality on my PC (XPpro) "server." I have installed apache, php, mysql, cgi. All components and connections work except perl to mysql.

It is amazing after reading hundreds of posts on many sites, that apparently DBD::mysql does not run on my platform, in fact cannot not even be installed, and any other suggested replacements really get confusing. People have been troubled and writing about this since 2000, and no one has solved the issue!

Would someone please tell me that I am missing something?

Thanks a lot.

Brian in Saratoga, NY

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I have installed apache, php, mysql, cgi

By CGI do you mean perl? I use activestate perl and mysql but on an old Windows98 test server. If the mysql drivers do not work for XPpro I am not sure what you can do.

You could try installing strawberry-perl instead of activestate perl. www.strawberryperl.com in which case you have full access to CPAN instead of having to use PPM repositories to find modules/drivers. I have no idea if that will help solve your dilema though.

By CGI do you mean perl? I use activestate perl and mysql but on an old Windows98 test server. If the mysql drivers do not work for XPpro I am not sure what you can do.

You could try installing strawberry-perl instead of activestate perl. www.strawberryperl.com in which case you have full access to CPAN instead of having to use PPM repositories to find modules/drivers. I have no idea if that will help solve your dilema though.

Kevin, thanks very much for your reply and suggestions.