1st off, I'm new to JAVA/NETBEANS, and my experience lies mainly in C and the Sparc
assembly language. The above problem is one I've solved in C (input a string of hex
characters and then convert it to a binary array for the purposes of bit manipulation,
namely for debug tools such as ecc generation). I'd like to put a gui on this code and
thought java/netbeans might be the simplest way to go about it. In the process I hope
to learn just enough Java to be dangerous and get away from tedious cli's. I already
designed the gui using Netbeans. (That was simple part.)

Problem in a nutshell:
Perhaps someone has solved this problem before...I want to enter a 16 character hexadecimal string into a jTextField. I then want to convert that string into a 64 bit array
of 1's and 0's.

Once I have that, the rest is merely doing a lot (and I do mean a lot of xor's on
particular bits in the array and outputting the bits.

I would appreciate any help or even a pointer in the right direction because I'm
relatively clueless here.

Thanks in advance,
thorneko

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

The above problem is one I've solved in C ...

This isn't pretty, but this works in C...(and works for any string length of hex)

/* Function to input the hexadecimal data */

indata1(prompt,repet,a0)
char *prompt,a0[];
int repet;
{
int i;
printf("%s",prompt);
for(i=0;i<repet;++i)
a0=getchar();
a0[repet]='\0';
}

/* Function to convert hexadecimal to binary */

bindata(repet1,a1,a2)
char a1[],a2[];
int repet1;
{
int i;
for(i=0;i<repet1;++i)
{
if (a1=='0'){
a2[4*i]='0';
a2[4*i+1]='0';
a2[4*i+2]='0';
a2[4*i+3]='0';
} else if (a1=='1') {
a2[4*i]='0';
a2[4*i+1]='0';
a2[4*i+2]='0';
a2[4*i+3]='1';
} else if (a1=='2') {
a2[4*i]='0';
a2[4*i+1]='0';
a2[4*i+2]='1';
a2[4*i+3]='0';
} else if (a1=='3') {
a2[4*i]='0';
a2[4*i+1]='0';
a2[4*i+2]='1';
a2[4*i+3]='1';
} else if (a1=='4') {
a2[4*i]='0';
a2[4*i+1]='1';
a2[4*i+2]='0';
a2[4*i+3]='0';
} else if (a1=='5') {
a2[4*i]='0';
a2[4*i+1]='1';
a2[4*i+2]='0';