Hi,

I'm a real newbie at C++, and I'm having a ton of trouble.
You see, What I need to do is convert an std::string into a system::string^ so I can display it in a textbox, and I haven't found any way of doing so :icon_confused: . I always get the compiler error 'cannot convert parameter 1 from 'std::string' to 'system::string ^'

I've searched on google, and they give a million ways to do the opposite of what i want to do. I'm using Visual C++ 2008 with .NET Framework 3.5. Here's my code:

int method;
int x = 53;
int y = 85;

private: System::Void btnCalc_Click(System::Object^  sender, System::EventArgs^  e) {
if(this->radioButton1->Checked == true)
  if(this->radioButton2->Checked == false)
    if(this->radioButton3->Checked == false)
      if(this->radioButton4->Checked == false)
      {
       method = x + y;

std::string txtboxstring; // Converts 'method' (int)
       std::stringstream out;   //  into std::string
       out << method;

//NEED TO CONVERT STD::STRING TO SYSTEM::STRING ^

this->txtresult->Text = txtboxstring;

}
}

Well, that's it. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

btw, yes, I know there are capitals on system::string, but I can't cuz it just gives the :S Icon.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

This isn't really a C++ question, more of a C++/CLI question, which is a separate language.

But if you looked in the System.String documentation, you'd see the answer: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ezh7k8d5.aspx

Your real problem is that you're using std::string in the first place -- if you're going to be creating a System::String^, create it directly.

Ok, sarehu, thanks for the advice...

Your real problem is that you're using std::string in the first place -- if you're going to be creating a System::string^, create it directly.

I know I sound like a total retard, but I can't find any way around it because System::string has no stringstream, or any ostringstream.