heyy i am a beginner in c++. i am trying out to develop a code to display the date in dd/mm/yy format .
also i am interested in validating the date( like for eg a month feb only 31 is invalid) and it should display "date invalid" if the date in invalid
the points i have noticed are
1. the days of each month are varying
2. the leap year problem

i also want to develop the code in such a way that we can add and subtract dates. And develop a Concept calender type class where we can see which date refers to which day ( Ex: 12/jan/1989 is a monday).. something like that.
I need help right from the scratch for this one. please help me as soon as possible
thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Break the problem down into manageable pieces, then solve each one individually. That should minimize the smothering effect of a complicated problem and you'll end up with specific questions that we can answer and specific problems that we can help with.

Asking for "help right from the scratch" suggests that you want us to do the design grunt work for you, which doesn't teach you anything.

#include<iostream.h>
#include<conio.h>
int i=1;
class date
{
private : int day,mont,year,month[12];

public : void read();
void operator <<(date d);
void operator +(int d);
void operator -(date d);

date()
{
month[1]=month[3]=month[5]=month[7]=month[8]=month[10]=month[12] =31;
month[4]=month[6]=month[9]=month[11] = 30;
month[2] =28;
}
};

void date :: read()
{
cout<<"entr the "<<i<<"date :\n";
i++;
cin>>day>>mont>>year;
}
void date :: operator<<(date d)
{
cout<<d.day<<"/"<<d.mont<<"/"<<d.year;
}
void date :: operator-(date d2)
{

if((year<d2.year)||(year==d2.year && mont<d2.mon)||(year==d2.year && mont==d2.mont &&day<d2.day))
{
cout<<"Subtraction not possible ";
getch();
exit(0);
}
while(year!=d2.year || mon!=d2.mon || day!=d2.day)
{
d2.day++;

if((d2.year%4==0 && d2.mon==2) ? d2.day>29 : d2.day > month[d2.mon])
{
d2.day=1;
d2.mon++;

if(d2.mon>12)
{
d2.mon=1;
d2.year++;
}
}
}