I would eventually like to get into writing my own very simple command line OS but I am looking for maybe somewhere to start. I know C++ but I am not an expert at it and I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction to getting in to OS development such as smaller projects that I could take on and stuff. The OS that I would write would be architectured to only run on one type of CPU, so It would not be like windows or anything. Also should I be getting into assembly or anything aswell.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I would eventually like to get into writing my own very simple command line OS but I am looking for maybe somewhere to start. I know C++ but I am not an expert at it and I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction to getting in to OS development such as smaller projects that I could take on and stuff. The OS that I would write would be architectured to only run on one type of CPU, so It would not be like windows or anything. Also should I be getting into assembly or anything aswell.

Most of it will be written in C probably, though with some Assembly. You are potentially biting off something very big to chew. I don't think there is such a thing as a "simple" OS. It's very wise that you are going to make it command line instead of graphical. Adding a GUI complicates things tremendously. Check out MINIX. It's gotten bigger than it used to be, so it might even be worth trying to get an earlier version.

http://www.minix3.org/

I'm sure there are smaller ones out there, but not by much. You might want to tackle making an emulator from within a command-line program first (i.e. the user can type "ls" or "pwd" or whatever and you make the system calls and do the commands from within the program). That's far less work than writing an OS. I'd start with that, then install MINIX with the minimum options and really get to know the code. Then, after you think you have that semi-mastered, start your own.