G day ,im a parent from Australia.
My child is 7 turning 8 and i would like to create a simple hangman game in visual basic that he can use.
I am fairly new to visual basic only having dealt with arrays,algorithms all the basic via a programming text book( that i no longer have...:( )
id please like to know the logistics of making the game.
This is how id like it to work,ive investigated different games....
i would like it to have a text box where you enter a single letter into it at any time and then obviously if its wrong, the wrong letter disappears, no longer being able to click.

Would someone please be able to think of the simplest possible way for me to do this,its important for me to not have it done by someone else and to make this game for my son myself.
I would like to be able to change/add the words in the game in the code,so that my son wont get bored :)

this is my first post and problem and i have heard this is a very friendly board,if you can assist me then thank you very much!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

If you're completely new to programming I'd recommend getting a book.

Hi Tripsturr,

I'd recommend keeping the words on a MSSQL backend (or Access) if you want to have the ability to keep adding them. If you're not familiar with databases you can always use an XML file, they are pretty easy to grasp and don't require SQL syntax to work with them. VB.Net makes working with either of these very easy, especially XML.

As for the logic of the game...I guess that depends how hard core you want to get with hangman. I have only played the game a few times. You'll definitely want to keep track of the letters that have already been used by the user and have them on screen for his ease.