$ perl AAA.pl > /pathto/name_of_file

is it possible adding "print file function" to the script

1) If YES
Please advise how to make it.

2) Can I add following bash syntax to the script
user=$(whoami);
now=$(date +%Y.%m.%d.%R);
File="/tmp/satimis/comparison_${user}_${now}.txt";

so that the printout file will carry name of creator, date and time, etc.

If possible please shed me some light to re-edit the script.

TIA

B.R.
satimis

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

on question number one, you could just pipe the output of the command to the lpd daemon, or whatever program you use:

perl AAA.pl | lpd

on question two, you could use the system() function, I do believe. I'm not a Perl programmer (I only play one on TV!), but you might be able to do something like this using backticks ` `:

user=`whoami`;
now=`date +%Y.%m.%d.%R`;
File="/tmp/satimis/comparison_"+$user+"_"+$now+".txt";

From Perl Documentation:

qx/STRING/
`STRING`

A string which is (possibly) interpolated and then executed as a system command with /bin/sh or its equivalent. Shell wildcards, pipes, and redirections will be honored. The collected standard output of the command is returned; standard error is unaffected. In scalar context, it comes back as a single (potentially multi-line) string. In list context, returns a list of lines (however you've defined lines with $/ or $INPUT_RECORD_SEPARATOR).

Because backticks do not affect standard error, use shell file descriptor syntax (assuming the shell supports this) if you care to address this. To capture a command's STDERR and STDOUT together:

$output = `cmd 2>&1`;

To capture a command's STDOUT but discard its STDERR:

$output = `cmd 2>/dev/null`;

To capture a command's STDERR but discard its STDOUT (ordering is important here):

$output = `cmd 2>&1 1>/dev/null`;

To exchange a command's STDOUT and STDERR in order to capture the STDERR but leave its STDOUT to come out the old STDERR:

$output = `cmd 3>&1 1>&2 2>&3 3>&-`;