I'm building a site and attempting to do everything I used to do in PHP in Python (what can I say, I just like it better!). There are a couple of scenarios that I don't quite understand, however. Such as:

1. If my plain ol' Python page is called from an Ajax function and returns some json, how do I control the headers that are sent back? In PHP I used the header() function where I don't see an obvious equivalent in Python.

2. If I want to provide a download for a user and I want it to live outside th webroot for security purposes, how do I read that binary file and put it out to the output buffer? In PHP it was the fpassthru() function.

Thanks everyone, I really appreciate your help!

Hi, I'm just a Python newbie, but since no-one else has replied, I'll throw a few suggestions out there for you. :)

I'm building a site and attempting to do everything I used to do in PHP in Python (what can I say, I just like it better!).

That same idea is becoming more and more appealing to me, too!

There are a couple of scenarios that I don't quite understand, however. Such as:

1. If my plain ol' Python page is called from an Ajax function and returns some json, how do I control the headers that are sent back? In PHP I used the header() function where I don't see an obvious equivalent in Python.

I know very little about web-based Python, but if by "plain old Python" you mean CGI Python, then simply printing the appropriate HTTP headers should do the job. It's all header() ever really did, after all. :D

Example for UTF-8-encoded XML:

# I forget whether IE is picky about which MIME types it will accept
# for XMLHttpRequest responses... YMMV.
print "Content-Type: application/xml; charset=UTF-8"
# And a blank line to end the HTTP headers section, just before
# you output your XML. Any other headers (e.g. Content-Length)
# must precede this.
print
# And finally, print your XML here.

You get the idea. :)